Tag Archives: Music

Night Time Readers, Get Your Nightstand Books at www.justinalcala.com

Readers of the night, get your fantasy, horror, absurdist fiction, sci-fi and urban fantasy at http://www.justinalcala.com.

The Long Game: A Success Story for Writers

4 minute read

The illusion of success is that it came overnight. It’s easy to understand why. Who doesn’t like to think that one great idea, or one focused effort, can make our dreams come true? As a culture, we glorify the rags to riches story. We celebrate athletes, businesses, and stars that seem to come out of nowhere and take the world by storm. But while these cases arise, the prevalent success story comes from grit, endurance, and a desire to develop.  

One of my favorite authors, Neil Gaiman, once told a story on his Masterclass session about a timeworn work that still lives in his attic to this day. He described how he dusted off the manuscript one day, read it, and then shoved it back into the attic where it belonged. Gaiman implicated that the book left a lot to be desired, but reading it again gave him peace of mind. It helped him realize that his voice was there, but his craft still needed work. He gathered the tenacity and withstood, growing with each published project, which would accumulate into his vast extension of accomplishments that today makes him a world esteemed storyteller. 

Writers live off of the hunger that our next work is going to be the big one. If you want to survive in the publishing market, that’s the attitude you need to have. However, like a set of ascending stairs, each project, if it gains an ameliorated quality, brings you closer to your aspirations. Set goals, expectations, and add a bit of a dream to the equation, and your next title will be a success whether it upgrades you to a larger publisher, gets you that agent you’ve been drooling over, or it turns into a New York Times Best Seller. Still don’t believe me? Just look at these stats. 

According to a study by writer, Joseph Epstein, 81% of Americans feel they have a book in them and should write it. That’s 200 million aspiring authors. 97% of people who write never finish their book. So, for every thousand people, thirty complete the task. Then there’s the demanding job of being published. A report taken from Digital Book World and Writer’s Digest Author Surveys states that of those survivors who wrote a book, only 13.4% earn a traditional publishing contract. Even after that, according to Quora Digest, the odds of being able to make a living as a writer are 1 in 10,000, but that likely means you’re also writing as a journalist, freelancer, etc., besides books. If you want to become a household name, at least in your genre, odds of that happening are 1 in 100,000. 

Given these proximate numbers, it’s clear that defying the odds and transforming into a success overnight, no matter how good your work might be, is unlikely. An author might set themselves up for failure by placing all their hopes on one work. Rather, they should feel assured knowing they’re determined to push forward with a new marvelous project, inching towards the top with every improved manuscript. The more monumental projects you put out into the world, the stronger the odds grow. After all, the illusion of success is that it comes overnight, but it’s the plural form of the word “overnight” that gets a writer where they want to go in their career.

Looking for an amazing, original URB Fantasy?

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Shane Kuhn’s THE INTERN’S HANDBOOK will love this noir supernatural thriller. 

Death needs a vacation. Badly. But there’s a catch: There are people who cheat the system, always falling through the cracks and not dying like they’re supposed to. Who’s going to take care of them while Death’s sipping on sangria? 

The answer is simple: Death needs an intern, and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that one prospect, Buck Palasinksia-a bankrupt hitman with a roleplaying addiction-might have what it takes. While scoping out his next target, Buck gets drilled in the forehead by a bullet and falls right into Death’s lap. 

If they shove him back into his body, he’ll have a few weeks to prove that he has what it takes to be Death’s right-hand. 

All he has to do is take out Public Enemy No. 1, John Dillinger, and quit smoking.

A Dead-End Job https://www.amazon.com/dp/1956136096/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_B33RW1KWF1CRFXYQS4MK

Urban Fantasy Fans Act Now

Hurry! Love is in the air, and it looks like Urban Fantasy on sale! Get your digital copy of A DEAD END JOB for $1.99! @parliamentbooks

Description 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Shane Kuhn’s THE INTERN’S HANDBOOK will love this noir supernatural thriller. 



Death needs a vacation. Badly. But there’s a catch: There are people who cheat the system, always falling through the cracks and not dying like they’re supposed to. Who’s going to take care of them while Death’s sipping on sangria? 

The answer is simple: Death needs an intern, and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that one prospect, Buck Palasinksia—a bankrupt hitman with a roleplaying addiction—might have what it takes. While scoping out his next target, Buck gets drilled in the forehead by a bullet and falls right into Death’s lap. 

If they shove him back into his body, he’ll have a few weeks to prove that he has what it takes to be Death’s right-hand. 

All he has to do is take out Public Enemy No. 1, John Dillinger, and quit smoking.

A Dead End Job is the perfect Stocking Stuffer

The Ghost of Christmas Future has his own intern, and they’re looking to give season’s beatings to anyone who tries to cheat Death. Put this award winning urban fantasy novel in your cart today!

Readers Love A DEAD END JOB by Justin Alcala

Join Justin Alcala’s Book Tour this week!

Join me all this week for my 42 book-blog site tour! I’ll be answering questions about A DEAD END JOB, and my other books, telling stories and giving bad life advise.

All the tour stops are listed here:
November 8:
1: Literary Gold
2: Wake Up Your Wild Side
3: Westveil Publishing
4: Travel the Ages
5: Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin’
6: Sadie’s Spotlight
7: Author Deborah A Bailey blog
8: Ilovebooksandstuffblog
9: JB’s Bookworms with Brandy Mulder
10: Coffee and Wander Book Reviews
11: Jazzy Book Reviews

November 9:
1: Fabulous and Brunette
2: All the Ups and Downs
3: Long and Short Reviews
4: Tina Donahue Books – Heat with Heart
5: The Pen and Muse Book Reviews
6: Wendi Zwaduk – Romance to Make Your Heart Race
7: Independent Authors
8: Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

November 10:
1: Andi’s Book Reviews
2: FUONLYKNEW
3: The Avid Reader
4: It’s Raining Books
5: The Obsessed Reader
6: The Faerie Review
7: Eye-Rolling Demigod’s Book Blog
8: Momma Says: To Read or Not to Read
9: The Key Of Love

November 11:
1: Aubrey Wynne: Timeless Love
2: Read Your Writes Book Reviews
3: Welcome to My World of Dreams
4: Seven Troublesome Sisters
5: Locks, Hooks and Books
6: Harlie’s Books

November 12:
1: Gina Rae Mitchell
2: Kit ‘N Kabookle
3: Novels Alive
4: Sandra’s Book Club
5: Triquetra Reviews
6: Iron Canuck Reviews & More
7: Sybrina’s Book Blog
8: Beyond Romance
9: Our Town Book Reviews

Today’s Tours


https://www.literaryau.com/2021/11/a-dead-end-job.html
https://galestanley.blogspot.com/2021/11/a-dead-end-job-by-justin-alcala.htmlhttps://www.westveilpublishing.com/?p=12579https://traveltheages.blogspot.com/2021/11/welcome-to-author-justin-alcala.htmlhttps://stormynightsreviewingandbloggind.blogspot.com/2021/11/a-dead-end-job-giveaway.htmlhttp://sadiesspotlight.com/a-dead-end-job-giveaway/https://dbaileycoach.com/brightbooks/2021/11/spotlight-giveaway-a-dead-end-job-by-justin-alcala/https://ilovebooksandstuffblog.wordpress.com/2021/11/08/a-dead-end-job-book-tour/https://jbbookworms.blogspot.com/2021/11/a-dead-end-job-by-justin-alcala-noir.htmlhttps://coffeewanderbooks.blogspot.com/2021/11/book-tour-excerpt-dead-end-job-by.html

Guess Who’s the ManyBooks Author of the Day…that’s right — Justin Alcala

That’s right! ManyBooks.net has given me the prestigious honor of being the Halloween “ManyBooks: Author of the Day.” Check out the link in my bio come 10.31 to read my upcoming interview, talk about A DEAD END JOB, and other literature fun!

https://manybooks.net

Join Justin Alcala on Haunted AF, Read & Write podcast, Goodreads, Reddit & Publisher’s Weekly

There’s so much deathly A DEAD END JOB fun! Join me 10.28 on @hauntedafpodcast for a ghost story, late November on the @readandwritepodcast ! Play the Reddit “Scythe” game to find out what weapon Death’s scythe would turn into in your hands. Join goodreads to get a winning copy of the book, and check out the great Publisher’s Weekly review! Check it all out at http://www.justin Alcala.com.

“A Dead End Job” Is Here

I give you 💀A DEAD END JOB 📖
Join Ned the undead hitman as he interns for Death. If you love absurdist fiction, urban fantasy or sarcastically fun books, this is the one for you. Find out why Publisher’s Weekly named it “Best Book of the Week” and why Speculative Fiction Foundation made it one of its top picks. Get it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo Books or wherever great books are sold! ! !

Get it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or wherever else great books are sold.

A Dead-End Job https://www.amazon.com/dp/1956136088/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_4YXEZCB013WEFX6APWEQ

Death needs a vacation. Badly. But there’s a catch: There are people who cheat the system, always falling through the cracks and not dying like they’re supposed to. Who’s going to take care of them while Death’s sipping on sangria? 

The answer is simple: Death needs an intern, and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that one prospect, Buck Palasinksia-a bankrupt hitman with a roleplaying addiction-might have what it takes. While scoping out his next target, Buck gets drilled in the forehead by a bullet and falls right into Death’s lap. 

If they shove him back into his body, he’ll have a few weeks to prove that he has what it takes to be Death’s right-hand. 

All he has to do is take out Public Enemy No. 1, John Dillinger, and quit smoking.

Award Winning Urban Fantasy: A Dead End Job 10.6

💀Giveaways and Contests Ready? ✔️
📖 Amazon, B&N & Kobo ready to print? ✔️
💀”A DEAD END JOB” Ready for October 6th Release? ✔️
It’s finally around the corner. Please be ready to order your copy and follow the link below to enter for a free hard copy along w/ Death’s vault key.
A Dead End Job: “Work until your dead, and then work done more.”
Contest: http://www.parliamenthousepress.com/contest